A survey of teens and parents earlier this year found a disturbing misinformation trend. Fully 33 percent of teens reported believing that, where marijuana is legal for recreational use, driving while high is also legal. Over 20 percent said that driving while high is common among their friends. Parents were only slightly less likely to be misinformed. Twenty-seven percent believed driving while high was legal in recreational use states, and 14 percent said it was common behavior among their friends.
Arizona is among several other states whose drunk driving laws include potentially severe penalties for conviction, even if it's the first time you've ever been charged with a crime. This state orders mandatory jail time for first offenders, all the more reason to try to avoid legal problems related to intoxicated driving at the start. Even if you make responsible choices where libations are concerned, it doesn't necessarily mean a police officer will never pull you over in a traffic stop and accuse you of drunk driving.
It's no secret how police determine if they will charge you with driving under the influence of alcohol. Such an arrest typically begins with an officer noticing something -- your eyes, your behavior or the odor of alcohol on your breath. What follows is a series of subjective tests the officer may initiate to confirm the suspicion that you have been drinking.
Is the practice of suspending defendants' driver's licenses for nonpayment of criminal justice debt unfair to those who can't afford to pay? Does it actually make it harder for courts to collect that debt?
When are police officers allowed to search your glove box after a traffic stop or an accident? At its base, it's a civil rights issue. The Fourth Amendment of the United States Constitution prohibits "unreasonable searches and seizures" by government agents such as police.
Arizona can congratulate itself for being number one! No, not the football or basketball teams, although fans of those can hold on to hope. The first place refers to the recent ranking of states with the strictest DUI laws. Using a system of points, WalletHub rated all 50 states according to 15 criteria, including length of jail time and additional consequences for drivers with blood alcohol counts well over .08.
Criminal charges of any kind have the potential to bring serious repercussions upon your life. You may think because it is your first drunk driving offense that you do not really have any consequences of significance to worry about, but that is not the case. In reality, even a first-time DUI could have serious consequences, and it is worthwhile to defend yourself and your interests.
Former Maricopa County Sheriff Joe Arpaio, 85, has been found guilty of criminal contempt by a federal judge. The criminal misdemeanor could cost him a fine and land him in jail for six months.
Robbery is a crime that the state of Arizona does not take lightly. If you are facing robbery charges, how you handle your case and who you have on your side matters. A conviction on such a charge could steal your future from you.
The Sixth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution guarantees a criminal defendant's right to "be confronted with the witnesses against him" in all prosecutions. That's one reason why the state can't bring hearsay evidence against you in a criminal case, for example. You have the right to see, hear and confront any witness (or even a document) accusing you of any crime. It's an essential part of due process of law.